Dust Monitoring

Dust monitor in communityDust monitoring stations include four Osiris units, located at Britannia Avenue, South Coogee Primary School, Water Corporation near Henderson Road, and area West of Cockburn Cement, opposite Challenger TAFE. Also, a Kwinana Industries Council (KIC) TEOM (particulate monitoring) unit is located at Tindal Avenue.

The Osiris units are known as 'particulate counting units' and record and continuously monitor ten minute averages of TSP (below 20 micron), PM10, PM2.5 and PM1.0. The TEOM records and continuously monitors PM10 and other parameters including Sulphur Dioxide (SO2), Nitrogen Oxide (NO) and Nitrogen Dioxide (NO2). TSP means total suspended particle, PM 10, 205 and 1 are different sized particulate matter.

Independent consultants maintain the monitoring stations and oversee all the data retrieval and quality assurance. This information is collected by the consultant on a monthly basis and provided to the Department of Environment and Regulation.

Kiln 5 & 6 Baghouses Complete

After three years the $42 million project to build baghouses on Kiln 5 and 6 is complete. Both baghouses are operational and reducing emissions from the Munster plant. more >>

Our 1800 156 826 Feedback Hotline

If you have questions or feedback for us, you can phone freecall number 1800 156 826 and leave a message including your name, address, return phone number and the nature of your case. Your call will be responded to within 72 hours. more >>